Striping it all off

Do you know the feeling of seeing a person for the first time? And I don’t mean literally seeing him or her for the first time when you first meet. Rather, the first time you begin to understand how and why this person might react in a particular way.

I have had these kinds of moments. Sometimes it takes weeks or months, sometimes only days to open up and to “see through”. However, every time I am amazed by the person’s story and I am impressed by where he or she has already been, by how he or she sees the world which is just inspiring, by what he or she has or is going through. And the thing is: you would never know when meeting that person for the first time. Their laughter might be contagious – hiding the pain, I might be jealous of their look or be intimidated by their self-confidence – not realizing that they feel small. Of course, it can also work the other way around.

I guess what I am driving at is the fact that you don’t need expensive gifts on Christmas to prove that you are someone. It is not about my house, my car, my number of friends on facebook.

When striping it all off, what is left? Wonderful, impressive and inspiring stories and personalities and I am very fortunate to have many of those on my life.

I guess the only thing I am struggling with is me! And to some extent it is good to question myself. But being impressed by others does also entail that I might make myself smaller than I actually am. I had times wondering what it would be like to be someone else, for example Emma Watson? 😉 And still I like walking around and imagining how it might be like to live in that house or what the life of that family in that house at the end of the street might look like. Don’t worry I haven’t lost my sense of reality! I might not really know who I am, but I know who I am not. And I might know what I would like to be like, but I don’t know (yet) how to exactly get there.

All I know is that I have been shaped by all these stories. And some people might not even know and will never know that they actually had an impact on how I see the world. And I just hope that as much as I have been inspired and felt challenged by all the different people, I can at some point be all of that for others as well.

SS857961

Leave a Reply

