Travelling through 2015 – Disneyworld

This is a whole post about Disneyworld. There, I said it. Disneyworld! And I don’t care about the haters, the unbelievers, the cynics – I love this place. Where dreams come true. And what can I tell you: dreams do come true at Disneyworld!

 

Disney 4

We stayed at this motel called Continental Plaza at the 192 Highway which is framed by shops with things Disney and everything else as well. There is nothing interesting to say about the location other than the fact that the motel was right next to a Chinese restaurant and on Sunday, after our day at Disneyworld and another full-day trip to the Kennedy Space Center Jana and me took advantage of the ‘all you can eat’-buffet. And we can eat a lot! They even had sushi…which is kind of suspicious now that I think about it.

Anyway, Disneyworld. We took off to explore the Hollywood Studios. I know, no Cinderella Castle, but amazing rides and water/light show at the end of the day and oh, the new Star Wars attraction. I think I don’t need any further explanation why we decided to visit this park.

We were well prepared. Or at least, I made sure the night before that we actually are well prepared. Here is a list of things you definitely need to do before heading to a Disneyworld theme park:

  • Buy a ticket and take the reservation number and an identification document with you
  • Put sunscreen on, bring sunglasses and maybe a hat
  • Bring a water bottle that you can refill – they have lots of water fountains in the park
  • Make sure you know where the restrooms are located (there are a lot around, but still)
  • Bring a camera, but believe me, you won’t have time to take pictures
  • Beforehand, make sure you book the fast passes for the attractions you really, really want to see/to do
  • Be prepared for families and for oversized kids who are actually adults, but love to behave like kids
  • If they say, ‘fill out the seats till the end of the row’ you should definitely move to the end of the row and don’t leave 3 spaces in between; they are more people coming
  • Ignore for one day that the world is an evil place and pretend that the houses and attractions are all real

Disney 1

Okay, so here is how our day was structured. Basically, I drank so much water that after every ride I had to use the restroom, then refilled the water bottle, finished the water bottle, got on a ride, used the restroom, refilled the water bottle, finished the water bottle…you get it, right? But: we managed not to get a headache being outside in the sun for about 12 hours! I mean, at one point I got a bit cranky like the kid in the stroller next to me, but in my defense: I was tired too! And Jana refused to push me around in a stroller. Also we didn’t have a stroller. But she got me an ice-cream (Mickey Mouse shape, what else?) and everything was fine again. We were also thinking about buying these ridiculously overpriced Mickey Mouse ears. But we didn’t. As I said: ridiculously overpriced. Instead we ran from one ride/attraction to the next one.

First, Star Wars, a 3D ride. Followed by the Hollywood Movie Ride, story about Mr. Walt Disney, Frozen Sing-Along, Beauty and the Beast show, Tower of Terror, Indiana Jones Stunt Show, Arielle the Mermaid, the Muppets Show, Aerosmith Rollercoaster, and Frozen Sing-Along. Yes, that’s right, we did the Sing-Along twice. Firstly, because it is a SING-ALONG so you get to sing and at the end they let foam fall from the ceiling so it looks like snow! And secondly, because it was a nice air-conditioned building and you could sit down for a full 20 minutes at a time. And then there was the Tower of Terror. I actually didn’t want to go. And why should I? You could hear people screaming through the whole park! Jana was like, ‘that’s probably just an audio recording’. But I can tell you: it was not! And as soon as we entered the ride Jana wasn’t ‘yeah let’s go on a scary ride’ anymore, but more like ‘Lisa, you need to go first’. Basically, what happened is that you sit down and then it all goes black and you rush up and down vertically. Then a window up in the tower opens you get a glimpse of light and then you scream because you fall down again. Hence, the screaming you could hear outside. What can I say, I screamed. And afterwards I had to use the bathroom. But that had nothing to do with the Tower of Terror in particular as you know…

We were lucky enough to also see the water and light show with Mickey. (I know, this guy is everywhere) But he was joined by the whole Disney crew and they projected the stories and characters on the water and there was singing and firework and little boats with the Disney princesses dancing along their theme songs and there was fighting between good and bad. And in this world, Disneyworld, the good actually wins.

minutes at a time. And then there was the Tower of Terror. I actually didn’t want to go. And why should I? You could hear people screaming through the whole park! Jana was like, ‘that’s probably just an audio recording’. But I can tell you: it was not! And as soon as we entered the ride Jana wasn’t ‘yeah let’s go on a scary ride’ anymore, but more like ‘Lisa, you need to go first’. Basically, what happened is that you sit down and then it all goes black and you rush up and down vertically. Then a window up in the tower opens you get a glimpse of light and then you scream because you fall down again. Hence, the screaming you could hear outside. What can I say, I screamed. And afterwards I had to use the bathroom. But that had nothing to do with the Tower of Terror in particular as you know…

We were lucky enough to also see the water and light show with Mickey. (I know, this guy is everywhere) But he was joined by the whole Disney crew and they projected the stories and characters on the water and there was singing and firework and little boats with the Disney princesses dancing along their theme songs and there was fighting between good and bad. And in this world, Disneyworld, the good actually wins.

Disney 5

Leave a Reply

